Connect with us


PHOTO: Drama as Tinubu’s wife, Remi Refuses to Shake Hands with Saraki



Drama played out today at the Senate chambers when Senate President, Bukola Saraki, administered oath of office and allegiance on Ahmad Lawan and 27 other All Progressives Congress senators who were absent at the formal inauguration of the Eighth Senate.
Saraki, after the election, administered oath of office and allegiance on 75 other senators.
However, the others, mainly members of the Senate Unity Forum, led by Senator Ahmad Lawan, mobilised themselves to the chamber as early as 8:30am on Wednesday, waiting for the Senate president, to formally swear them in as senators.
The senators, after the votes and proceedings of the previous legislative day were adopted, took turn to take their oaths by reading it out aloud and append signatures.
By protocol, each of the newly sworn-in senators were expected, after taking their oaths, to present a copy of their certificate to the Senate President and in turn, shake hands with him.
The protocol was duly followed by others except Senator Oluremi Tinubu (Lagos Central), who refused to shake hands with Saraki, but merely showed him her certificate and walked out on the Senate President.
Photos of others shaking Saraki below: