Connect with us


List of people decorated at the centenary award



President Goodluck Jonathan on Friday decorated seven
living former Nigerian Heads of State and Presidents with the
centenary awards.
The centenary anniversary awards night and dinner, during which 100
recipients were decorated, was held at the banquet hall of the
Presidential Villa.
The decorated leaders are Yakubu Gowon, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo,
Alhaji Shehu Shagari and Gen. Muhammadu Buhari.
Others are Gen. Ibrahim Babangida, Chief Ernest Shonekan and
Gen. Abdusalami Abubakar.
Six late Nigerian Heads of State were honoured post-humously.
The recipients of the post-humous award are Dr Nnamdi Azikiwe,
Alhaji Tafawa Balewa, Gen. Aguiyi Ironsi, Gen. Murtala
Mohammed, Gen. Sani Abacha and Alhaji Musa Yar’Adua.
Also in the category is the presumed winner of the June 1993 general
election, late Chief Moshood Abiola.
The President decorated the representatives of the late leaders among
whom is Mrs Maryam Abacha.
Also the centenary awards are in 13 categories with winners both
living and dead.
The first are those who have contributed  to the making of Nigeria
and they include Queen Elizabeth II of England, Lord Fredrick
Lugard and his wife, Lady Lugard,
The second category is the Heroes of the Struggle for independence/
Pioneer political leaders which include Azikiwe, Balewa, Macaulay
and Chief Obafemi Awolowo.
Others in the category are Sir Ahmadu Bello, Prof Eyo Ita, Jaja
Nwachukwu, Pa Michael Imoudu, Chief Anthony Enahoro and
Chief Joseph Tarka.
The rest are Malam Aminu Kano, Mrs Margaret Ekpo, Funmilayo
Ransome-Kuti and Hajia Gambo Sawaba.
The third category is the Pioneers in professional Callings/careers
which include the first indigenous lawyer, Chief Sapara Williams,
and the first indigenous Solicitor, Chief Rotimi Williams.
The categories also include the first indigenous Chartered Accountant,
Chief Akintola Williams, and the first indigenous Inspector General
of Police, Louis Edet, and the first indigenous medical doctor, Prof.
Eyitayo Lambo,
Also in the categories are the first female Vice Chancelor of
Nigerian universities, Prof. Grace Alele-Williams, and the first
indigenous female pilot,.Capt. Chinyere Kalu.
Others include Akinwale Wey, Gen. George, Gen. Aguiyi Ironsi,
Tamunoiyowunam, Gen. Abdullahi Mohammed, Prof. Kenneth
Dike,  and Gen. Oviemo Ovadje.
The fourth category is Pioneer in Commerce and Industry, which
has Louis Odumegwu Ojukwu, Alh. Alhassan Dantata and Chief
Adeola Odutola.
Awardees under Pioneer of Democratic Transition in Nigeria are
Shagari, late Abiola, late Gen. Shehu Yar’Adua and Abdusalami
The sixth category is the Heroes in Global Sports Competitions
which are Chioma Ajunwa, Nwankwo Kanu, Richard Ihetu, Chief
Michael Okpala (Power Mike) and Monday Emoghavwe.
The seventh category is Accomplished Pioneer Public Servants and
the awardees include Chief Olabode Wey, Justice Udo Udoma,
Chief Emeka Anyaoku and Sir Adetokubo Ademola.
Others are Dr Olawale Elias, Dr Rilwan Lukman, Alhaji
Ibrahim Dasuki and Alh. Aliyu Mai-Borno.
The awardess under category eight, which are the Accomplished
Temporary Entrepreneurs, are Alhaji Aliko Dangote, Chief Mike
Adenuga and Dr innocent Chukwuma.
The ninth category is Distinguished Academics and the recipients
include Profs. Benjamin Osuntokun, . Kelsey Harrison, Chike Obi,
Dagogo Fubara, Ade Ajayi, Claude Ake, Babatunde Fafunwa,
Godwin Abasi and Umaru Shehu.
The 10th category is International Acclaimed Artists, Literary Icons
and Journalists and the recipients include Chief Michael Akinwumi,
Profs. Wole Soyinka, Chinua Achebe and John Pepper Clark.
The recipients also include Mr Cyprian Ekwensi, Alhaji Abubakar
Imam, Mr Daniel Fagunwa, Ernest Ikoli, Alhaji Babatunde Jose
and Kenneth Nnebue.
The category also has Olu Jacobs, Patience Ozokwor, Shata
Katsina, Herbert Ogunde, Fela Anikulapo-Kuti, Osita Osadebe
and Dr Ladi Kwali.
Others are Benedict Enwonwu, Alhaji Maitama Sule, Prof. Akin
Mabogunje, Dr Barnabas Oloruntoba and the Chief Justice of
Nigeria, Maryam Mukhtar.
The 11th category is Outstanding Bravery and Public Spiritedness
and the beneficiaries are Chief Gani Fawehinmi and Michael
The 12th category is Outstanding Promoters of Unity, Patriotism
and National development and in the category are former Heads of
State and Presidents.
The recipients are Gowon, late Gen. Murtala Mohammed, Obasanjo,
Buhari, Babangida, Shonekan, Gen. Sani Abacha, Alhaji Umaru
Yar’Adua, and Gen. Theophilus Danjuma.
The last category is Exemplary Service in the Promotion of Peace
and Moral Excellence and the recipients are Sir Abubakar Sadiq,
Sheikh Abubakar Gumi, Michael Tansi, Pastor Enoch Adeboye and
Sheikh Usman Bauchi

READ ALSO  BREAKING :Former Minister Dora Akunyili Critically Ill, Flown To India Last night
Follow us on social media: