Connect with us


Tribunal sacks sitting governor, declares second candidate winner – (Reasons given will shock you)



In a significant development, the Kano Governorship Election Petition Tribunal has invalidated the election of Governor Abba Kabir Yusuf, declaring the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the rightful winner of the March 18 election.

Yusuf, who had contested on the platform of the New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP), was initially declared the winner by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

However, following the result, Nasir Gawuna, his APC rival, filed a petition in court challenging the outcome.

In a recent ruling by the three-man panel, the Tribunal ordered the withdrawal of the certificate of return previously presented to Governor Yusuf by INEC.

The Tribunal further directed INEC to issue a certificate of return to Nasir Gawuna, the APC candidate.

The Tribunal made a significant deduction of 165,663 votes from Gov. Yusuf’s total, categorising them as invalid votes.

It stated that these ballot papers lacked the necessary stamping or signing, rendering them invalid.

This deduction ultimately influenced the Tribunal’s decision in favour of Nasir Gawuna

Follow us on social media: