Connect with us


Why CAF banned Central African Republic from playing Nigeria in their country



The Central African Republic will host Nigeria in a World Cup qualifier in Douala, Cameroon instead of their country..

This is because of a standing order from the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

In August this year, CAF barred eight countries from hosting World Cup qualifiers.

They are: Mali, Burkina Faso, Central African Republic, Djibouti, Guinea-Bissau, Malawi, Namibia and Niger.

The decision was taken after the countries failed CAF’s venue inspections.

They will instead play their home fixtures at a neutral ground.

CAR defeated Nigeria 1-0 in the first leg and will be looking to complete a stunning double over Gernot Rohr’s men in Douala

Follow us on social media: