Connect with us


Ondo Chief Judge Rejects Impeachment Move Against Deputy Governor



Plans to impeach the deputy governor of Ondo state has met a roadblock following the decision taken by the Chief Judge of the state.

Moves by the Ondo State House of Assembly to impeach the defected deputy governor has been rejected by the Chief Judge of Ondo State, Justice Olanrewaju Akeredolu..

The Justice made this known in a letter she wrote to the House of Assembly in response to a directive that she should constitute a seven-man impeachment panel to probe the state’s Deputy Governor, Hon Agboola Ajayi.

The Chief Judge in her response rejected the request on the ground that the two-third majority required by the 1999 constitution for setting up such a probe panel was not formed in the house of Assembly.

Only 14 out of the 26 members of the Assembly signed the impeachment notice with nine members dissociating themselves from the impeachment plot.

The nine members have also written a letter to the Chief Judge of the state, Justice Akeredolu, dissociating themselves from the ongoing plans to impeach the Ondo deputy governor of the state.

The lawmakers are Rt. Hon. Iroju Ogundeji (Deputy Speaker), Hon. Jamiu Sulaiman Maito, Hon. Rasheed Olalekan Elegbeleye, Hon. Tomide Leonard Akinribido and Hon. Samuel Edamisan Ademola.

Others are Hon. Favour Semilore Tomomewo, Hon. Festus Akingbaso, Hon. Adewale Williams Adewinle and Hon (Barr.) Torhukerhijo Success.

READ ALSO  Atiku blows hot as Senate introduces hate speech bill
Follow us on social media: