Connect with us


BREAKING: Mane beats Salah & Mahrez to clinch his first African POTY



The Senegalese forward Sadio Mane finally go back home with the African Player of the Year Award after snubbed in the previous three editions of the coveted piece of silverware.

Mane was Senegal’s main man at the 2019 AFCON where he netted three goals on the Teranga Lions’ path to the final where they lost by a solitary goal to Algeria. He netted a brace in the 3-0 group phase victory over Kenya and added one more in the round of 16 1-0 win over Uganda.He was also a vital part of the team as they beat Benin and Tunisia in the quarters and semis respectively, his influence playing a big role in Senegal’s run to the final.

For his club Liverpool, Mane was just as sensational as he was for Senegal as he played another crucial role aiding them to the UEFA Champions League title for the first time since 2005.

The forward scored crucial goals, key among them a double over Bayern Munich in a 3-1 victory in the round of 16 and once in the aggregate 6-1 win over Porto in the quarter-finals as the Reds steamrolled into the final and ultimately bag the Champions League title.

In the English Premier League, Mane shared the Golden Boot crown with Salah and Arsenal’s Gabonese front-man Pierre Emerick Aubameyang, all three having netted 22 times for their respective clubs. On top of that, Mane scored 39 goals across all competitions for Liverpool in the 2018-2019 season.

READ ALSO  Europa: Dele Alli takes swipe at Mourinho, praises Pochettino

The winners in recent years
2014: Yaya Touré

2015: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang

2016: Riyad Mahrez

2017: Mohamed Salah

2018: Mohamed Salah

2019: Sadio Mane

Follow us on social media: