Connect with us


Who voted for who at the FIFA Best Awards 2019



Barcelona talisman Lionel Messi was crowned the FIFA Best Men’s Player of the Year on Monday night.

The Argentina international beat Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk and Juventus’ Cristiano Ronaldo to the award.Messi won the award for the sixth time in his illustrious career after lifting the trophy in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015.

The Nou Camp talisman helped Barcelona win La Liga, as well as guiding the Spanish giants to the Champions League semi-finals.

The awards are based on performances from 16 July 2018 to 19 July 2019 and were voted for by fans, national coaches of FIFA Member Associations, their team captains as well as a select group of football journalists from those countries.

But who did Messi, Van Dijk and Ronaldo vote for ahead of Monday night’s presentation?

Barcelona superstar Messi’s first vote went to Liverpool’s Sadio Mane.

The Reds ace was instrumental as Jurgen Klopp’s men won the Champions League last time out.

Messi’s second vote went to his arch-rival Ronaldo, while his new Barcelona team-mate Frenkie De Jong picked up his third vote.

Livepool’s Van Dijk voted for Messi, Mohamed Salah and Mane.

Many felt Salah and Mane should have been shortlisted, with former Premier League star Samuel Eto’o venting his frustration before the presentation.

READ ALSO  Coppa, Supercoppa: Ronaldo Lost 2 Straight Cup Finals At Club Level For The 1st Time

When asked who should be named Men’s Player of the Year, he said: “Salah or Mane… but they’re not here!”

Juventus star Ronaldo, meanwhile, didn’t even vote for his former La Liga rival Messi.

The Portugal forward gave his first vote to his new Juventus team-mate Matthijs de Ligt.

Frenkie De Jong and and Kylian Mbappe also received votes from the former Real Madrid man.

England captain Harry Kane voted for the three nominees.

The Tottenham star voted for Messi, Van Dijk and Ronaldo respectively.

Gareth Southgate – England coach

(1st) Lionel Messi (2nd) Cristiano Ronaldo (3rd) Virgil van Dijk

Lionel Messi – Argentina captain

(1st) Sadio Mane (2nd) Cristiano Ronaldo (3rd) Frenkie de Jong

Cristiano Ronaldo – Portugal captain

(1st) Matthijs de Ligt (2nd) Frenkie de Jong (3rd) Kylian Mbappe

Harry Kane – England captain

(1st) Lionel Messi (2nd) Virgil van Dijk (3rd) Cristiano Ronaldo

Luka Modric – Croatia captain

(1st) Cristiano Ronaldo (2nd) Eden Hazard (3rd) Lionel Messi

Hugo Lloris – France captain

(1st) Lionel Messi (2nd) Cristiano Ronaldo (3rd) Kylian Mbappe

Manuel Neuer – Germany captain

(1st) Virgil van Dijk (2nd) Sadio Mane (3rd) Eden Hazard

Virgil van Dijk – Netherlands captain

(1st) Lionel Messi (2nd) Mohamed Salah (3rd) Sadio Mane

READ ALSO  Van Dijk injured in dramatic Liverpool, Everton draw

Sergio Ramos – Spain captain

(1st) Eden Hazard (2nd) Cristiano Ronaldo (3rd) Mohamed Salah

Eden Hazard – Belgium captain

(1st) Sadio Mane (2nd) Virgil van Dijk (3rd) Lionel Messi

Seamus Coleman – Republic of Ireland captain

(1st) Lionel Messi (2nd) Virgil van Dijk (3rd) Cristiano Ronaldo

Andrew Robertson – Scotland captain

(1st) Virgil van Dijki (2nd) Frenkie de Jong (3rd) Sadio Mane