Connect with us


BREAKING : President Buhari in close-door meeting with APC govs



PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari last night met behind closed-doors with the All Progressives Congress, APC Governors at the First Lady’s Conference Hall, Presidential Villa, Abuja.
The meeting came barely six hours after the President met with the APC Senators and the National Chairman of the party also behind closed-doors at the State House.

Although the agenda of the meeting was not made available to journalists, it may not be unconnected with the gale of defection that has hit the party especially as the President will be traveling on Friday for a 10-day working day visit to London, the United Kingdom.

Already President Buhari has transmitted a letter to the National Assembly informing them of his holiday while the Vice President will be acting on behalf of the President.

As about 9:45 pm the President arrived for the meeting only 15 governors and one deputy governor were present.

In attendance at the meeting were Governor Abubakar Badaru of Jigawa, Akinwumi Ambode of Lagos, Yahaya Bello of Kogi, Rochas Okorocha of Imo, Kashim Shettima of Borno, Abdullahi Ganduje of Kano and Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun.

Others were Abubakar Bello of Niger, Nasir El Rufai of Kaduna, Simon Lalong of Plateau, Mohammed Jibrilla of Adamawa, Abubakar Bugudu of Kebbi and Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo state, Aminu Masari of Katsina, Governor Tanko Almakura of Nasarawa, and Godwin Obaseki of Edo.

READ ALSO  I Returned To PDP Because APGA Contradicts My Religious Belief - Stella Oduah

The Deputy Governor of Osun state, Grace Titilayo Laoye- Tomori represented the Osun Governor.

The Attorney General of the Federation, AGF, and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami, Secretary to the Government of the Federation, SGF, Boss Mustapha, the Chief of Staff to the President, Abba Kyari and the National Chairman of the APC, Adams Oshiomhole were in attendance.

Absent were the governors Zamfara, Abdulaziz Yari, Ondo, Rotimi Akeredolu, Yobe, Ibrahim Geidam and Bauchi Mohammed Abubakar.