Connect with us


Flashback: What Jonathan Told Defecting PDP Politicians In 2015



In the light of the mass defection of senators that hit the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) on Tuesday, THE WHISTLER has recollected the words of advice by former President Goodluck Jonathan to defecting Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) politicians in 2015.
Recall that at least 14 federal lawmakers of the APC had today dumped the ruling party for the PDP, making the opposition party the majority party at the upper legislative chamber of the National Assembly.

Meanwhile, after losing 2015 presidential election to President Muhammadu Buhari, former President Goodluck Jonathan warned members of his party not to gluttonously dump the PDP for the APC in bid to seek greener pastures in the party.

Jonathan had envisaged the return of PDP politicians who planned on leaving the party because he lost the presidential election to the then opposition party.

He said, “PDP is still the party that whatever you are, you can get to any level based on your competencies”

“I encourage members of our party to remain faithful, not to be so disillusioned because we lost presidential election and you decide to go to where you feel they will fill your stomach. Every PDP defector will return with empty stomach,” Jonathan added.

READ ALSO  Drama As Dino Melaye Asks Keyamo To Recite Second Stanza Of The National Anthem

Senate President Bukola Saraki announced the APC senators defection in a letter he read at Plenary on Tuesday.

The defectors include, Rabi’u Kwankwaso (Kano-Central), Dino Melaye (Kogi-West), Adesoji Akanbi (Oyo-South), Monsurat Sunmonu (Oyo-Central), Rafiu Ibrahim (Kwara-South), Suleiman Hunkuyi (Kaduna-North), and Lanre Tejuoso (Ogun-Central).

Others are Usman Nafada (Gombe), Ibrahim Dambaba (Sokoto), Mohammed Shittu (Jigawa) Isa Misau (Bauchi) Suleiman Nazif (Bauchi) Shaaba Lafiagi (Kwara) and Barnabas Gemade (Benue).

Meanwhile, Senator Abdul-Azeez Murtala-Nyako (Adamawa), who had earlier dumped the APC for the African Democratic Congress, formalised his defection on Tuesday.