Connect with us


Benue Assembly Suspends Lawmakers Who ‘Impeached’ Governor Ortom



The Benue lawmakers who signed for the impeachment of the state governor, Samuel Ortom, have been suspended by the house.
Recall that eight lawmakers under the All Progressives Congress, APC, umbrella, this morning, served an impeachment notice to the Governor.

The lawmakers had taken over the Assembly complex to sit and pass the impeachment notice while the police blocked further access.

The illegal sitting was led by suspended speaker and member of the House, Terkimbi ikyange.

The State House of Assembly, has however, suspended for six months, the seven members who held the illegal sitting.

The other lawmakers are: Benjamin, Terhemba Chabo, Benjamin Nungwa, Bem Mngutyo, Adams Okloho, James Okefe and Nick Eworo.

The decision was taken in the presence of 18 members with four notices of absence.