Connect with us


World Cup 2018: Pogba’s stripped of winning goal against Australia



Paul Pogba has been stripped of France’s winning goal, in Saturday’s 2-1 Group C victory over Australia in Kazan.
The midfielder’s 81st-minute strike has been ruled as an Aziz Behich own goal.

Pogba was set up by substitute Olivier Giroud, but it was Behich who has been adjudged to have gotten the decisive touch, as the ball looped over goalkeeper Mathew Ryan.

Speaking after the match about the possibility of the goal being awarded to Behich, Pogba admitted that the Australian touched the ball but said all that mattered was the three points.

“For my goal, I was helped by the defender,” the 25-year-old told TF1’s Telefoot on Sunday.

“Scoring with your ear or your nose, not just your foot — it does not matter as long as it goes in. I was really pleased that the ball went in and that we were able to win the match.

“That was the most important thing. First match, first win, and all three points — that was the objective.