Connect with us


BREAKING: National Assembly List Resolutions After Marathon Meeting



The National Assembly has passed a vote of no confidence on the Inspector General of police over outright disregard for constitutional authority.

After marathon meeting between the House of Representatives and the Senate, the National Assembly on Tuesday listed conditions for peace between the legislature and the executive arms of government.

The lawmakers, arising from the over two hours closed meeting, also threatened to invoke their constitutional powers should the President fail to adhere to the resolutions as they passed a vote of no confidence on the Inspector General of police, Idris Ibrahim.

Here are the resolutions:

Senate President Bukola Saraki reports that at the joint session, the National Assembly resolved as follows:

1. The Security Agencies must be given marching orders to contain all the sustained killings of Nigerians and protect the lives and properties of Nigerians — as this is the primary duty for any responsible government.

2. The systemic harassment by the executive of perceived political opponents — people with contrary opinions in the legislature and the judiciary — by the police and other security agencies must stop.

3. There must be strict adherence to the rule of law and protection for all citizens by the President and all his appointees.

READ ALSO  Goodluck Jonathan Replies El-Rufai On The Sharing Of Ecological Fund

4. The President must be held accountable for the actions of his appointees and must be ready to sanction, those that carry out any act, that will ridicule or endanger the country and our democracy.

5. The government should show sincerity in the fight against corruption by not being selective and also prosecute current appointees that have cases pending against them.

6. The sanctity of the National Assembly should be protected and preserved by the federal government and prosecute those who invaded the Senate to seize the mace.

7. Democratic elections must be competitive and inclusive by removing the current reign of fear and intimidation — particularly as we approach the forthcoming 2019 elections.

8. The National Assembly will liaise with the international community through the IPU, the APU, ECOWAS Parliament, Pan-African Parliament, EU, US Congress and the United Nations to secure our democracy. The National Assembly will also engage with civil society organizations trade unions and NGOs to further deepen and protect our democracy.

9. The President must take immediate steps to curtail the growing level of poverty and unemployment in Nigeria — especially now that we have an advantage of high oil prices.

10. Both chambers of the National Assembly hereby pass a vote of confidence on the Senate President, the Speaker and the entire leadership of the National Assembly.

READ ALSO  PHOTOS: 8 Times President Buhari Messed Up A Handshake

11. We also hereby reaffirm our earlier resolution on the vote of no confidence on the Inspector General of Police, who does nothing but preside over innocent Nigerians with an outright disregard for constitutional authority of both the executive and the legislature.

12. The National Assembly will not hesitate to invoke its constitutional powers if nothing is done to address the above resolutions passed today.