Connect with us


2015 WOMEN’S WORLD CUP: Super Falcons in 'Group of Death'



The reigning African champions have been handed a tough group in the preliminary stages of the 2015 Fifa Women’s World Cup to be staged in Canada
Nigeria will face two-time champions USA, Australia and Sweden in Group D of the preliminary round of the 2015 Fifa Women’s World Cup.
The draw ceremony took place at the Canadian Museum of History, Ottawa, Canada. The event was greeted with great fanfare that showcased the culture of the country. It was a spectacular treat that left mouths wide open including the crème de la crème of world football.
Secretary General of Fifa Jérôme Valcke was in charge of the draw and was assisted by Tatjana Haenni, Fifa Deputy Director of the Competitions Division and Head of Women’s Football.
Hosts Canada  were zoned in Group A against China PR, New Zealand and the Netherlands.

Cote d’Ivoire will face a stiff challenge in Group B having been zoned against Germany, Norway and Thailand.
Defending champions Japan were handed a tricky pool in the draw, having been bracketed with Cameroon, Switzerland and Ecuador.

Elsewhere, France, who finished fourth at the 2011 World Cup featured in an intriguing pool alongside England, Colombia and Mexico.
Nigeria’s first game will be against Sweden in Winnipeg on June 8, 2015.

READ ALSO  5 Mysterious Things That Happens In The Body After Death

GROUP A – Canada, China PR, New Zealand, Netherlands
GROUP B – Germany, Cote d’Ivoire, Norway, Thailand
GROUP C –Japan, Switzerland, Cameroon, Ecuador
GROUP D – USA, Australia, Sweden, Nigeria
GROUP E – Brazil, Korea Republic, Spain, Costa Rica
GROUP F – France, England, Colombia, Mexico

Follow us on social media: